Education Abroad Advisory Committee

Purpose

The Education Abroad Advisory Committee (EAAC) is established as a requirement of the By-Laws, Rules, and Regulations of the University Senate [Section II.F.5], and its responsibilities are delegated by the Senate Committee on Scholastic Standards to provide direct oversight for the approval of credit-bearing Education Abroad courses and programs offered by the University. Members will act as an education abroad liaison with their school or college, or administrative unit. Further, the EAAC shall maintain By-Laws outlining the approval process for all University-sponsored student experiences abroad, including, but not limited to, credit-bearing programs and courses. The EAAC does not provide oversight for student organizations’ travels abroad.

The University’s schools and colleges are solely responsible for review and approval of all academic aspects of credit-bearing Education Abroad courses and programs. The responsibility and the prerogative of the EAAC is limited to determining the appropriateness of such courses and programs relative to the locations where they are proposed to be held with adequate considerations of time, affordability for students, safety and security, and other issues related to institutional liability.

The Senate Committee on Scholastic Standards authorizes the Vice President for Global Affairs to reject or postpone a course or program for financial, liability, and safety reasons.

Current Membership

School or Unit Member Email Title
College of Agriculture, Health and Natural Resources Morty Ortega morty.ortega@uconn.edu Associate Professor, Natural Resources and the Environment; Chair, Education Abroad Advisory Committee
College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Kari Adamsons kari.adamsons@uconn.edu Associate Professor and Associate Department Head for Undergraduate Studies, Human Development and Family Studies
College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Liansu Meng liansu.meng@uconn.edu Associate Professor, Chinese, and Co-Director of the AsiaTech Program
Dean of Students Megan Buda megan.buda@uconn.edu Director of Community Standards
Education Abroad Matthew Yates matthew.yates@uconn.edu Director of Education Abroad
First Year Experience and Learning Communities David Ouimette david.ouimette@uconn.edu Executive Director, First Year Experience and Learning Communities
Global Affairs Ngozi Taffe ngozi.taffe@uconn.edu Assistant Vice President
Global Affairs Yuhang Rong yuhang.rong@uconn.edu Associate Vice President
Graduate School Kathleen Segerson kathleen.segerson@uconn.edu Professor and Associate Dean of the Graduate School
Honors Program Jennifer Lease Butts jennifer.lease@uconn.edu Associate Vice Provost and Director
Neag School of Education Saran Stewart saran.stewart@uconn.edu Associate Professor and Program Director, Higher Education & Student Affairs
School of Business Qing Cao qing.cao@uconn.edu Associate Professor, Management
School of Engineering Daniel Burkey daniel.burkey@uconn.edu Professor in Residence, Associate Dean for Undergraduate Education and Diversity
School of Fine Arts Mark Zurolo mark.zurolo@uconn.edu Associate Professor, Graphic Design
School of Nursing Mark Lazenby mark.lazenby@uconn.edu Professor and

Associate Dean for Faculty and Student Affairs

School of Pharmacy Jill Fitzgerald jill.fitzgerald@uconn.edu Associate Clinical Professor and Director of Experiential Learning
School of Social Work Rebecca Thomas rlthomas@uconn.edu Associate Professor and Director of the Center for International Social Work Studies
Student Support Services Kimberly Gorman kimberly.gorman@uconn.edu Director of Student Support Services/ConnCAS

By-Laws

Loader Loading...
EAD Logo Taking too long?

Reload Reload document
| Open Open in new tab